University of Toronto pharmacy admission requirements: two years of university, a 70% floor and about 260 seats
You can't apply to U of T pharmacy from high school. It is a second entry program. First you finish at least 8 university credits, which takes about two years. You can study at any university. Then you apply with at least a 70% average. U of T admits about 260 students a year.
Reviewed October 7, 2026 · Checked against the primary sources below · How we review guides
Key facts
- Route from high school
- Start a BSc at any university. Apply to the PharmD after about two years.
- Average
- 70% is the lowest average U of T will take. It does not share the admitted average.
- Extra steps
- Casper and an online video test. No essay and no reference letters.
- Tuition
- For 2026-27, PharmD tuition was $18,420 for Ontario students.
Save this to your free account
Keep these dates where you'll see them. The calendar file needs no account.
- OUAC Group A deadline (Ontario high-school students)January 15, 2027
Free account. No card needed.
U of T PharmD prerequisite courses
All of these must be done by the end of April 2027 for August 2027 entry.
| Subject | What you need | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Biology | 1.0 FCE | Anatomy and physiology do not countU of T PharmD academic requirements |
| Chemistry | 1.5 FCE | Biochemistry does not countU of T PharmD academic requirements |
| Math | 1.0 FCE | At least 0.5 FCE must be calculusU of T PharmD academic requirements |
| Humanities or social sciences | 1.0 FCE | Language courses do not countU of T PharmD academic requirements |
| Total university study | At least 8 FCE | Normally two yearsU of T PharmD academic requirements |
| Cumulative average | At least 70% (B minus) | All courses countU of T PharmD academic requirements |
Every row was checked against its official source on October 7, 2026. Recheck the source before you act, because dates and fees change.
U of T PharmD dates for August 2027 entry
Dates for the current cycle.
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Application opens | September 17, 2026U of T PharmD timelines |
| OUAC deadline | January 15, 2027, 11:59 p.m.U of T PharmD timelines |
| Supplemental application | January 19, 2027U of T PharmD timelines |
| Last Casper date | January 21, 2027U of T PharmD timelines |
| Preliminary transcripts | January 30, 2027U of T PharmD timelines |
| Online Individual Assessment | March 25, 2027U of T PharmD timelines |
| First round offers | May 2027U of T PharmD timelines |
| Final decisions | Mid June 2027U of T PharmD timelines |
Every row was checked against its official source on October 7, 2026. Recheck the source before you act, because dates and fees change.
The real route from high school
U of T calls its PharmD a second entry professional program. It admits students from university, not from high school. It also says it does not look at high school grades for PharmD admission.
High school students should apply to a general science program (BSc), such as a physical or life science program, at any recognized university. U of T says you are free to go to the university of your choice. Most students can apply during their second year of university. Some wait until later years.
Sources: U of T PharmD: high school students
Grade 12 courses to take now
U of T suggests English, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, Calculus and Vectors (MCV4U) and Advanced Functions (MHF4U) in Grade 12. These set you up for the university courses pharmacy needs.
Your high school average still matters for getting into the first year BSc you choose. Check that program's own cut-off and use our Top 6 average calculator. For U of T science options, see our U of T Life Sciences guide.
Sources: U of T PharmD: high school students
University prerequisites
You need 1.0 FCE of biology, 1.5 FCE of chemistry, 1.0 FCE of math with at least one term of calculus, and 1.0 FCE of humanities or social sciences. Anatomy and physiology do not count as biology. Biochemistry does not count as chemistry. Language courses do not count as humanities.
You also need at least 8 FCE of university study in total. U of T says these subjects normally take two years. You do not need to finish a degree. All required courses must be done by the end of April 2027 for this cycle.
Sources: U of T PharmD academic requirements · U of T PharmD FAQ
The average you need
The minimum is a 70% cumulative university average, equal to a B minus at U of T. U of T does not work out a separate average for the required courses. They sit inside your cumulative average with everything else.
U of T says it does not disclose the admitted average or the acceptance rate. It expects anywhere from 700 to over 1,000 applications a year for about 260 seats. So a 70% average makes you eligible, but it is rarely enough on its own.
Sources: U of T PharmD academic requirements · U of T PharmD FAQ
Picking courses at another university
U of T keeps a table of acceptable courses from many Canadian universities. It says the list is long but not complete. If your school is not on it, contact the faculty, since any recognized university can meet the requirements.
Read the fine print. Statistics does not count toward the math requirement, so you need real calculus. Biochemistry and environmental chemistry do not count toward chemistry. Anatomy and physiology do not count toward biology.
Timing matters too. Required courses must be finished within 10 years of the year you apply. For the 2027 cycle, that means fall 2017 or later. If you have more than two years done, you may list upper year courses, but U of T says this does not give you an advantage. A clean, full first and second year is the best plan.
Sources: U of T PharmD acceptable courses
Casper and the Online Individual Assessment
Every applicant writes Casper (Casper 2, CSP-10211), an online situational judgement test. The last test date this cycle is January 21, 2027.
Applicants who meet the academic minimum and the Casper threshold are invited to the Online Individual Assessment on March 25, 2027. It runs about three hours. You watch video questions recorded by faculty and record timed video answers. There is also a multiple choice section.
U of T does not require pharmacy work or volunteer experience. It does not use personal statements or reference letters. It suggests you prepare as you would for an interview, using your own experiences and what you know about pharmacy.
Sources: U of T PharmD Online Individual Assessment · U of T PharmD FAQ
Dates and fees for August 2027
The OUAC application opened September 17, 2026 and closes January 15, 2027 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern. The supplemental application is due January 19, 2027 and preliminary transcripts by January 30. First round offers go out in May 2027, and final decisions come by mid June.
The application fee is $331.50. U of T says it is non transferable and non refundable. For other schools' dates, see our Ontario deadlines page.
Sources: U of T PharmD timelines
A three year PharmD with placements, not co-op
U of T says it is the only school in Canada with a three year PharmD. Classes start in August. Practice placements start early in the program instead of a co-op stream.
In year one you spend 160 hours in community pharmacy, one day a week. In year two you spend 160 hours in hospital or other institutional settings. Year three has 36 weeks of advanced practice blocks. In total that is over 40 weeks of hands on learning, with more than 1,000 preceptors.
Sources: U of T PharmD program · U of T PharmD experiential education
Tuition for 2026-27
U of T's FAQ lists 2026-2027 PharmD tuition of $18,420.00 for domestic Ontario students. Students from other provinces paid $22,590.00 and international students paid $57,280.00.
Remember the first two years of your BSc come first, at that university's own tuition. U of T also lists awards and financial aid for PharmD students once you are in.
Sources: U of T PharmD FAQ
For parents
Pharmacy at U of T is a five year plan in total: about two years of science, then a three year PharmD. Your child does not need to start at U of T. A strong first year anywhere is what matters.
Budget for the gap years too. The BSc years are paid at the first university's rates, then PharmD tuition follows. Applying to more than one pharmacy school, such as Waterloo, keeps options open if the first try does not work out. Check each school's own prerequisite list early.
Help your child pick a BSc where they can keep a high cumulative average, since every course counts. See the U of T admissions overview and the U of T university guide.
Sources: U of T PharmD: high school students · U of T PharmD academic requirements
Official sources
Confirm current dates, rules, fees, and program details in these primary sources.
Written by Stellar Advisers Editorial Team · Reviewed by Official-source review desk · Last reviewed October 7, 2026
- Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy: PharmD programOnly three year PharmD in Canada; OUAC deadline January 15, 2027 for August 2027 admission.
- U of T PharmD: information for high school studentsSecond entry program; high school grades not used; take a BSc at any university; suggested Grade 12 courses.
- U of T PharmD academic requirements1.0 biology, 1.5 chemistry, 1.0 math with calculus, 1.0 humanities or social sciences; 8 FCE; 70% cumulative; CGPA and acceptance rate not disclosed.
- U of T PharmD application process and timelinesAugust 2027 cycle dates; $331.50 fee; supplemental application January 19, 2027.
- U of T PharmD Online Individual AssessmentMarch 25, 2027; about three hours; video and multiple choice; no personal statements or references.
- U of T PharmD frequently asked questions2026-2027 tuition $18,420 Ontario, $22,590 other provinces, $57,280 international; about 260 admitted; 700 to over 1,000 applications.
- U of T PharmD experiential education160 hours community (year 1), 160 hours institutional (year 2), 36 weeks advanced practice (year 3).
- U of T PharmD acceptable courses at Canadian universitiesCourse table not complete; statistics, biochemistry, environmental chemistry and anatomy and physiology excluded; courses within 10 years (fall 2017 or later for 2027).
Frequently asked questions
Quick answers to the questions applicants ask most often.
Planning a route to U of T pharmacy?
An adviser can help you choose a first year science program, map the prerequisites and plan your Casper dates. Your first consultation is free.