Skip to content
Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador campus
Image source · Wikimedia Commons
Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador

Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador Admissions & Deadlines

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Core application items, supplements, deadlines, and proof. This focused guide keeps the detailed tables, official sources, and practical next steps in one manageable reading path.

The short answer

  • Memorial takes applications at apply.mun.ca, not through OUAC, the Ontario Universities' Application Centre.
  • General admission needs a 70% average in five Grade 12 courses, with a pass in each.
  • Nursing uses your Grade 11 average: 70% is the floor, and 85% or higher is competitive.
  • The Nursing application closes January 20 and documents are due February 3.
  • Fall 2027 general deadlines have no year label, so treat March 1 as the working priority date.

Reviewed August 16, 2026 · Official university sources · How we review guides

Save this to your free account

Track Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador with a checklist for how you apply. Free account. Add your dates in the tracker to request reminder emails; unsubscribe any time.

Free account. No card needed.

Fall 2027 admissions planning

Memorial University admission requirements and the five subject areas

Memorial has one standard for the whole university. You need an overall average of at least 70% in five Grade 12 courses. These courses must cover English, mathematics, a laboratory science, a social science or modern/classical language, and an elective. You need a passing grade in each course. Above that floor, things get complicated. Nursing wants 85% on the Grade 11 average. Engineering wants above 80% in four named subjects. Commerce is not entered from high school at all.

General minimum

70% over five courses

If more than one course satisfies a subject area, Memorial uses the course with the highest grade.

Application route

apply.mun.ca

Memorial's own portal, three intakes a year — fall, winter, and spring. Not an OUAC school.

Decision speed

About 10 business days

Memorial says general admission decisions usually come within 10 business days. That is after all documents are uploaded.

What is and is not confirmed for Fall 2027

Two real 2027 dates, and one undated calendar

Memorial has published real Fall 2027 dates with years in two places. The Doctor of Medicine deadline is August 26, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. NDT. Residence applications for Winter and Fall 2027 open on October 15, 2026. The general fall, winter, and spring undergraduate deadlines below are published as month-and-day dates that repeat each year. No cycle year is attached to them. So treat March 1 as the working fall priority date. Re-check before you rely on it.

The five subject areas, province by province

Subject areaOntario coursesNewfoundland and Labrador coursesPlanning note
EnglishENG4U, EAE4U, ETS4U, or EWC4UEnglish 3201English is required for every route; there is no program at Memorial that waives it.
MathematicsMDM4U (Data Management), MHF4U, or MCV4UMathematics 3200, 3201, Mathématiques 3230, or 3231Memorial accepts Data Management for general admission. But Engineering expects advanced mathematics. Check the program before choosing MDM4U alone.
Laboratory scienceSBI4U, SCH4U, SES4U, or SPH4UBiology 3201, Biologie 3231, Chemistry 3202, Chimie 3232, Physics 3204, or Earth Systems 3209One lab science satisfies general admission; Nursing and Engineering each name a specific science set on top of it.
Social science or modern/classical languageCIA4U, CHI4U, CLN4U, CPW4U, HSB4U and similar, or FSF4U, FEF4U, FRA4U, FIF4USocial Studies 3201, World History 3201, World Geography 3202, World Religions 3101/3106, or two credits at the 3000 level in French or another modern/classical languageThis is a single slot — a social science or a language, not both.
ElectiveA second course in one of the categories above, or one additional 4U or 4M subjectTwo credits in any subject area at the 3000 levelMemorial counts the Newfoundland pattern in credits (10 credits) and the Ontario pattern in courses (five Grade 12 courses).

Published minimums by route

RoutePublished minimumRequired workPlanning note
General admission (Arts, Science, Music, Social Work entry)70% overallFive Grade 12 courses covering English, mathematics, a laboratory science, a social science or modern/classical language, and an elective, with a passing grade in eachThis is the university's published eligibility floor. It is not a competitive prediction. Memorial states that a higher average may be required. Supplementary information may also be needed. This is for competitive-entry programs.
Bachelor of Nursing (four-year option) — high-school entry70% floor; 85% competitiveBiology 2201 and Biology 3201, Chemistry 3202, English 3201, Math 3200 or Math 3201, and a Social Science 3xxx or Modern Language 3xxx (two credits at the 3000 level), or provincial equivalentsMemorial names 70% as the minimum acceptable Grade 11 average. It says applicants should have 85% or higher in these subject areas to be competitive. Priority for admission goes to residents of Newfoundland and Labrador.
Engineering One (Bachelor of Engineering entry)Grades above 80% normally requiredHigh-school advanced mathematics, chemistry, physics, and English — Memorial states grades above 80% in these are normally required for considerationOntario applicants should read advanced mathematics as MHF4U or MCV4U with SCH4U and SPH4U. Current and former Memorial students need a cumulative average of at least 70%.
Bachelor of Commerce (Co-operative) — after Business One65% overall in Business OneTen Business One courses (30 credit hours) plus an overall average of at least 60% on the most recent 30 credit hoursThis is a competitive-entry program entered after first year, not directly from high school. Meeting the minimum does not guarantee acceptance.
Transfer applicants into Engineering One70% overall or a 3.0 GPAPost-secondary transcripts plus the final high-school transcript from every institution attendedMemorial's engineering page publishes 70% or a GPA of 3.0 or equivalent as the transfer threshold.
Doctor of Medicine (MD)Bachelor's degree plus MCATA completed bachelor's degree in any discipline plus the MCAT; the Fall 2027 application deadline is published as August 26, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. NDTThis is the one Memorial route with a fully dated Fall 2027 deadline already on the deadlines page.

Nursing is decided on your Grade 11 average

This is the structural quirk that catches out-of-province applicants. Memorial's nursing admissions page names 70% as the minimum acceptable Grade 11 average. It states that applicants should have a Grade 11 average of 85% or higher in the required subject areas to be competitive. The application closes January 20. Documents are due February 3. That is months before most Grade 12 students think about deadlines. Priority for admission goes to residents of Newfoundland and Labrador. So out-of-province and international applicants should treat 85% as a floor rather than a target.

Application and deadline schedule

CheckpointDateStatus
Fall semester — general admissionOpens September 10 · Priority March 1 · Documents August 20 · Closes September 9Published as recurring month-and-day dates without a Fall 2027 year label. Treat March 1 as the working priority date and verify once Memorial relabels the page.
Winter semester — general admissionOpens January 7 · Priority October 1 · Documents December 20 · Closes January 6Memorial takes applications for three semesters a year — fall (September), winter (January), and spring (May).
Spring semester — general admissionOpens May 12 · Priority February 1 · Documents April 30 · Closes May 11The spring intake is real at Memorial, not a summer session, and it uses the same general 70% requirement.
Bachelor of Commerce beyond Business OneFall May 15 · Winter November 1 · Spring March 1A competitive-entry deadline applied after Business One, not on the high-school application.
Bachelor of Education — Primary/ElementaryApplication January 15 · Documents February 1Fall intake only, with an earlier document deadline than the general cycle.
Bachelor of Nursing (four-year option)Application January 20 · Documents February 3The earliest mainstream undergraduate deadline at Memorial, and it lands mid-Grade 12 for high-school applicants.
Doctor of Medicine — Fall 2027 entryAugust 26, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. NDTConfirmed. This is a genuine, dated Fall 2027 deadline published on Memorial's own admission-deadlines page.
Residence applications for Winter and Fall 2027Open October 15, 2026Confirmed and year-labelled on Memorial's residence dates page, alongside a February 9–20, 2027 renewal window for returning students entering Fall 2027.
Transforming Our Horizons entrance scholarshipApply for admission by March 1 of your graduation yearDomestic applicants must apply by March 1 of their high-school graduation year. They must do this to be considered for admission.
International applicantsAt least 12 weeks before the semester startsMemorial advises international applicants to apply at least 12 weeks ahead. This is because of study-permit processing.

Application checklist

  1. 1.Choose a program and campus first — St. John's, Grenfell, the Marine Institute, and Labrador Campus have different programs and different housing, and general admission without a program is available only for non-competitive routes.
  2. 2.Apply through apply.mun.ca and pay the $70 Canadian or $300 international application processing fee; Pharmacy, Music, the Bachelor of Technology and the Bachelor of Maritime Studies add their own fees.
  3. 3.Send documents. Grade 12 students in Newfoundland and Labrador have transcripts pulled automatically from the provincial Department of Education; everyone else submits Grade 12 registrations plus Grade 10 and 11 transcripts themselves.
  4. 4.Apply for admission by March 1 of your graduation year if you want Transforming Our Horizons entrance scholarship consideration — the award is calculated on your early admission average and guaranteed at early acceptance.
  5. 5.Watch the competitive deadlines separately: Nursing closes January 20 with documents by February 3, Primary/Elementary Education closes January 15, and the B.Comm. beyond Business One closes May 15 for fall.

Current English-test minimums

IELTS Academic or Academic for UKVI

6.5 overall, with at least band 6 in reading and writing

TOEFL iBT or iBT Home Edition

4.5 overall with a minimum 4.0 in reading and writing on the current scale. For valid tests completed up to January 2026, 83 overall with 20 in reading and writing.

Duolingo English Test

115 overall

CAEL Assessment

60 overall

PTE Academic

60 overall

Cambridge English

176 in C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency

Michigan English Test (MET)

59

The TOEFL entry carries two scales at once because of the test's rescoring transition. Check which scale your report uses before you send it. Memorial requires proof of English proficiency if you have not attended an English-medium high school in Canada for at least two years.

What Memorial actually publishes right now

Each card below is a single fact checked against one first-party mun.ca or mi.mun.ca page, with the cycle it belongs to and its verification status. Anything Memorial has not published for Fall 2027 is marked pending rather than guessed.

Fall 2027 cycle status

Fall 2027 · Published for this period

Memorial has published two genuine, year-labelled Fall 2027 dates. The admission-deadlines page names August 26, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. NDT as the Doctor of Medicine deadline for Fall 2027, and the residence dates page states that residence applications for Winter and Fall 2027 open October 15, 2026, with a February 9 to 20, 2027 room-renewal window for returning students entering Fall 2027.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Admission deadlines by semester and competitive-entry program · Verified August 16, 2026

General undergraduate deadlines carry no Fall 2027 year label

2027 pending · Fall 2027

The general fall, winter, and spring deadlines on Memorial's admission-deadlines page are published as recurring month-and-day dates. Fall opens September 10 with a March 1 priority deadline, an August 20 document deadline, and a September 9 close. No Fall 2027 label is attached. Memorial has not relabelled them for the 2027 cycle.

Plan against March 1 as the working priority date. Re-check the page before you rely on it. Memorial could shift a recurring date without announcing it.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Admission deadlines by semester and competitive-entry program · Verified August 16, 2026

Application route and intakes

Current process · Published for this period

Memorial takes applications through its own portal at apply.mun.ca for three semesters a year. These are fall (September), winter (January), and spring (May). Memorial publishes a six-step process. First, choose a program and campus. Then review deadlines, check admission requirements, create an account and complete the application, upload documents, and expect your offer.

Memorial is not part of OUAC (Ontario's university application site). Ontario applicants apply directly to Memorial. They send their own documents.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: I want to apply: steps, documents, and decision timing · Verified August 16, 2026

Size and structure

University-published counts · Published for this period

Memorial publishes 17,000+ students and 3,000+ international students from over 100 countries. It has four teaching campuses across Newfoundland and Labrador plus online programming. It offers more than 300 program options in almost all fields of study.

These are Memorial's own published counts; treat them as directional rather than audited enrolment data.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: About Memorial: scale, campuses, and ranking signals · Verified August 16, 2026

Why the university is called Memorial

Institutional history · Published for this period

Memorial's history pages state that in 1925 Memorial University College was founded to honour the sacrifice of Newfoundlanders who died in the First World War, established as a living memorial to those who had fallen. The vision for higher education in the colony dates back to 1893.

The history page reviewed does not state the year Memorial gained full university status, so this guide does not assert one.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Memorial's history: the 1925 living memorial · Verified August 16, 2026

Four campuses, four different admissions realities

Current campuses · Published for this period

Memorial operates the St. John's campus, Grenfell Campus in Corner Brook, the Fisheries and Marine Institute on Ridge Road in St. John's, and Labrador Campus in Happy Valley-Goose Bay, plus online programming. Each carries its own programs, and Grenfell and the Marine Institute publish their own housing and credential structures.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Undergraduate programs by area and campus · Verified August 16, 2026

Ranking and research signals Memorial publishes

Current positioning · Latest published information; newer cycle not yet confirmed

Memorial describes itself as one of Canada's top 10 comprehensive universities and publishes 8th among top comprehensive schools in Canada in Maclean's, No. 322 in Time Magazine's World's Top Universities 2026, a No. 1 ranking for AI publications as a percentage of total publications, and the statement that 40 per cent of research at Memorial is ocean-related.

These are marketing signals selected by Memorial; the Maclean's and Time positions are third-party rankings quoted on a first-party page.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: About Memorial: scale, campuses, and ranking signals · Verified August 16, 2026

Acceptance rate

2027 pending · Fall 2027

We reviewed first-party mun.ca pages for this guide. None of them publishes a university-wide undergraduate acceptance percentage. Memorial publishes a 70% general minimum instead. It also publishes program-level competitive language.

Any Memorial acceptance rate you find is third-party modelling. Plan against the published 70% floor and the program-specific competitive averages.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Undergraduate admissions hub · Verified August 16, 2026

How fast a general admission decision arrives

Current process · Published for this period

Memorial states that general admission decisions typically arrive within 10 business days after you upload all required documents.

This applies to general admission only. Competitive-entry programs run on their own committee timelines. These programs include Nursing, Education, and the B.Comm.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: I want to apply: steps, documents, and decision timing · Verified August 16, 2026

The published general admission minimum

Current requirements · Published for this period

Memorial requires an overall average of at least 70% in five Grade 12 courses. These courses must fulfil its subject area requirements. You also need a passing grade in each subject. Memorial states that a higher admission average and/or supplementary information may be required for competitive-entry programs.

Applies to: All applicants, Ontario high school, Other Canadian

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Ontario high-school curriculum requirements · Verified August 16, 2026

The five subject areas

Current requirements · Published for this period

Every Canadian applicant must present senior-level high-school courses in five subject areas: mathematics, English, a laboratory science (biology, chemistry, earth systems/geology, or physics), a social science or modern/classical language, and an elective.

Applies to: All applicants, Ontario high school, Other Canadian

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Ontario high-school curriculum requirements · Verified August 16, 2026

How the admission average is calculated

Current requirements · Published for this period

If more than one course satisfies a subject area, the course with the highest grade is used to determine the admission average. Memorial applies this rule identically across provinces.

This helps students who take more than the minimum number of qualifying courses. The weakest courses drop out of the calculation.

Applies to: All applicants, Ontario high school, Other Canadian

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Newfoundland and Labrador high-school curriculum requirements · Verified August 16, 2026

Ontario course codes Memorial accepts

Current requirements · Published for this period

English: ENG4U, EAE4U, ETS4U, or EWC4U. Mathematics: MDM4U (Data Management), MHF4U, or MCV4U. Laboratory science: SBI4U, SCH4U, SES4U, or SPH4U. Social studies or language: CIA4U, CHI4U, CLN4U, CPW4U, HSB4U and similar, or FSF4U, FEF4U, FRA4U, FIF4U. Elective: a second course in one of those categories or one additional 4U or 4M subject.

MDM4U meets general admission mathematics. But Engineering expects advanced mathematics. So MDM4U alone is not a safe plan for engineering.

Applies to: Ontario high school

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Ontario high-school curriculum requirements · Verified August 16, 2026

Newfoundland and Labrador course codes and the 10-credit pattern

Current requirements · Published for this period

English 3201. Mathematics 3200, 3201, Mathématiques 3230, or 3231. Biology 3201, Biologie 3231, Chemistry 3202, Chimie 3232, Physics 3204, or Earth Systems 3209. Social Studies 3201, World History 3201, World Geography 3202, World Religions 3101/3106, or two credits at the 3000 level in French or another modern/classical language. And two elective credits at the 3000 level. The 70% minimum is calculated on those 10 credits.

Memorial counts the Newfoundland pattern in credits. It counts the Ontario pattern in courses. The underlying five subject areas are identical.

Applies to: All applicants, Other Canadian

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Newfoundland and Labrador high-school curriculum requirements · Verified August 16, 2026

Application and admission fees

Current fee schedule · Published for this period

The general application processing fee is $70 for Canadian undergraduate applicants and $300 for international undergraduate applicants. Faculty fees add $125 (Canadian) or $175 (international) for the School of Pharmacy and $40 for the School of Music. The Bachelor of Technology and the Bachelor of Maritime Studies each carry a $300 admission fee. Late applications cost $30 for up to one week after the deadline and $10 for each subsequent week. Memorial states these fees are non-refundable unless otherwise noted.

The international application fee is more than four times the Canadian one. Budget it before you start comparison-applying.

Applies to: All applicants, International

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Application and admission fees · Verified August 16, 2026

General admission deadlines by semester

Standing pattern, no 2027 label · Latest published information; newer cycle not yet confirmed

Fall: the application opens September 10. The priority deadline is March 1. The document deadline is August 20. The application closes September 9. Winter: it opens January 7. The priority date is October 1. Documents are due December 20. It closes January 6. Spring: it opens May 12. The priority date is February 1. Documents are due April 30. It closes May 11.

These are published without a cycle year. Programs not listed separately follow this general pattern.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Admission deadlines by semester and competitive-entry program · Verified August 16, 2026

Competitive-entry program deadlines

Fall 2027 for Medicine; standing for the rest · Published for this period

Bachelor of Commerce beyond Business One: fall May 15, winter November 1, spring March 1. Bachelor of Education Primary/Elementary: application January 15, documents February 1. Bachelor of Nursing four-year option: application January 20, documents February 3. Doctor of Medicine for Fall 2027: August 26, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. NDT.

The Nursing and Education deadlines land in mid-Grade 12, months before the general March 1 priority date. Missing them is the single most common Memorial planning error.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Admission deadlines by semester and competitive-entry program · Verified August 16, 2026

Accepted English proficiency tests and minimums

Current requirements · Published for this period

IELTS Academic or Academic for UKVI: 6.5 overall, with at least band 6 in reading and writing. TOEFL iBT: 4.5 overall, with a minimum 4.0 in reading and writing. For valid tests completed up to January 2026, TOEFL iBT is 83 overall, with a minimum 20 in reading and writing. Duolingo English Test: 115 overall. CAEL: 60 overall. PTE Academic: 60 overall. Cambridge English: 176 in C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency. Michigan English Test: 59.

The TOEFL entry carries two scales at once. This is because of the test's rescoring transition. Check which scale your report uses before you send it.

Applies to: International

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Accepted English proficiency tests and minimum scores · Verified August 16, 2026

When English proficiency evidence is required

Current requirements · Published for this period

Memorial states that you may be required to provide further proof of English language proficiency. This applies if you have not attended an English-medium high school in Canada for at least two years.

The wording is may be required rather than will be required. So ask Admissions rather than assuming an exemption.

Applies to: International, Transfer

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Ontario high-school curriculum requirements · Verified August 16, 2026

Nursing: the gap between the floor and the competitive average

Current requirements · Published for this period

The four-year option from high school requires Biology 2201 and Biology 3201, Chemistry 3202, English 3201, and Math 3200 or Math 3201. It also requires a Social Science 3xxx or Modern Language 3xxx worth two credits at the 3000 level. The minimum acceptable Grade 11 average is 70% or higher. But Memorial states applicants should have a Grade 11 average of 85% or higher in these subject areas to be competitive. Priority for admission is given to residents of Newfoundland and Labrador. Offers stay conditional until final grades confirm the 70% minimum is maintained through Grade 12.

Nursing is judged on the Grade 11 average, not the Grade 12 average. This structure is unusual. It means the decisive year ends before most applicants start planning.

Applies to: All applicants, Other Canadian, International

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Nursing admissions: high-school applicants · Verified August 16, 2026

Engineering One entry standard

Current requirements · Published for this period

Memorial states that grades above 80% in high-school advanced mathematics, chemistry, physics, and English are normally required. They are required for consideration for Engineering One. Current and former Memorial students need a cumulative average of at least 70% for the Bachelor of Engineering. Transfer applicants need a minimum overall average of 70%. Or they need a GPA (grade point average) of 3.0 or equivalent. Deadlines are June 1 for fall, November 15 for winter, and February 1 for spring.

The engineering page reviewed does not publish seat numbers or a promotion-to-term-3 rule. So this guide does not state either one.

Applies to: All applicants, Ontario high school, Transfer

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science admission information · Verified August 16, 2026

What documents each applicant type submits

Current process · Published for this period

Grade 12 students in Newfoundland and Labrador have transcripts obtained automatically from the provincial Department of Education. High-school students outside the province submit current Grade 12 course registrations. They also submit transcripts showing final grades for Grades 10 and 11. University and college transfer students submit a final high-school transcript. They also submit transcripts from every college or university attended.

Out-of-province applicants carry the document burden themselves. Only N.L. students get the automatic transcript pull.

Applies to: All applicants, Ontario high school, Other Canadian, Transfer

Memorial University of Newfoundland: I want to apply: steps, documents, and decision timing · Verified August 16, 2026

Responding to an offer and the confirmation deposit

Current process · Published for this period

Admitted students log in to the admissions portal. They open My Account, select the application, and choose Respond Now under Decision History. Some offers require a confirmation deposit to hold a seat. Memorial states that deposit directions and deadlines are outlined in your acceptance letter. They are not on a published date.

Your acceptance letter gives your deposit deadline. So there is no single Memorial acceptance date for everyone to plan against.

Applies to: All applicants

Memorial University of Newfoundland: I've been admitted: offer response, deposit, PAL, registration · Verified August 16, 2026

Provincial attestation letter timing for international students

Current process · Published for this period

Memorial says international students get a provincial attestation letter (PAL). You use the PAL to apply for a study permit. The PAL will be emailed to your Memorial student email. This happens within seven business days.

The seven-business-day PAL window falls between your offer response and the start of any study-permit application. So build it into the 12-week international timeline.

Applies to: International

Memorial University of Newfoundland: I've been admitted: offer response, deposit, PAL, registration · Verified August 16, 2026

Official Sources and Next Steps

Stellar keeps this guide structured for comparison, but official university pages remain the source of truth for program requirements, tuition, residence, scholarships, deadlines, and policy changes.

Prepared by Stellar Advisers Editorial Team · Reviewed August 16, 2026 · Editorial, corrections, and source methodology